Why to start an e-Business?

• Hello there,

I have spent good part of today trying to understand if and why I should set up a business in Estonia.

There is a lot of info around but right because it is a lot, it is also difficult to find the right answer.

I am an Italian citizen living in Finland since 2005 (10+yrs) and I also have the Estonian e-Residency.

Now the main question I have is: why should I open a business in Estonia as an e-Resident?

Case 1) - Freelancer - As a freelancer at the moment I don't see a lot of benefits (I would probably never make any profit and I will anyway pay income taxes in my country of residence). Finland has quite modern banking system, I guess very similar to Estonia and I can anyway do most of what I have to do online (taxes, payments, establishing a business, etc...). (*) And I am an European resident anyway already.

Case 2) - Startup Business - If I had to start a company which would (one day?) make a profit maybe there might be a benefit in reinvesting company's profits inside the company itself but I can postpone that decision to later.

I don't see any other benefits or reasons why I should be more inclined to start a business in Estonia rather than Finland right now (as long as I remain a Finnish resident).

Am I missing something? Is there anything which I have misunderstood? Anyone can help?

So why would I want to start a freelancer or a real business in Estonia as a Finnish e-Resident? This is a fundamental question that e-Residents program (and we ourselves) need to answer otherwise all the hype will turn into no real change (and of course I am all for change ;) ).

Thanks
    Stefano

Ps. this compose interface is terrible...

(*) According to the Tax Treaty double taxation will be avoided http://vanaweb.emta.ee/?id=1776

• future 1 business 4
    Views

• @Stefano-Mosconi said: